Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Navarasam - Bharathanatiyam

Nava means "Nine" and Rasa is often translated as "mood", "emotion", "expression" or "sentiment". The Navarasa, in the dance refer to the nine expressions that humans often show. These are
1. Love ( Shringaara )
2. Laughter ( Haasya )
3. Kind-heartedness or compassion ( Karuna )
4. Anger ( Roudra )
5. Courage ( Veera )
6. Fear ( Bhayaanaka )
7. Disgust ( Beebhatsa )
8. Wonder or Surprise ( Adbhutha )
9. Peace or tranquility ( Shaantha)

Monday, October 24, 2016

Bala Devi Chandrashekar is presenting " Karna - Destiny's Child "

11th November 2016 Bala Devi Chandrashekar is presenting " Karna - Destiny's Child" at a fund raising performance in Mogappair, Chennai.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Abhinayam is the art of expression

Abhinayam is the art of expression. It is the medium of presentation by which one can convey one's ideas and the feelings to others without speech but by means of mudras, mime, facial expression and movements of the body.

Bharata explains "exhibiting the meaning of that which is expressed in 'Abhi' meaning forward and "Nayam" meaning to lead forward the characteristics of a character is abhinayam."

Abhinayam is of four kinds.
  1. Angika Abhinayam
  2. Vachika Abhinayam
  3. Aharya Abhinayam
  4. Sattvika Abhinayam

Monday, October 3, 2016

BharathaNatiyam - Indian Classical Dance

BharathaNatiyam is a classical Indian dance form which is popular in the state of Tamil Nadu,India.
A origin of the name is from Bharatha Muni, who wrote the Natya Shastra to which Bharatha Natiyam has many of its ideas.
Lord “Natarajar”(Lord Siva) is considered to be the god of Bharatha Natiyam.Bharatha Natiyam has three basics,"Bhavam" which means expression , "ragam" meaning medium, "thalam" meaning rhythm and natiyam meaning dance .